Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Show Us Your OVERCOATS

Aloysius

My Mail is Forwarded Here
The design is probably not much changed since the late Victorian era; I love the swoop it has. It certainly also served me well travelling to and from graduation ceremonies in one of my kilts in January.

At one point in my life I was rather keen on joining a Guards regiment, either the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards for Cavalry or the London Guards (originally the London Scottish) for Infantry, as the Blair/Brown administration killed off the other Scottish regiments. The coats were part of the appeal! (The chief reason I didn't pursue it in the end was a change of degree, which had required re-starting and then by the time I graduated I figured I was a bit too old to go for Sandhurst. A regret, to an extent.)

Doctor Damage

I'll Lock Up
The only damage mine came with was the lining of one of the sleeves cut in half, no damage to the shell, though. That fortunately was easily sorted - I just had my dry cleaner reline the sleeve. Otherwise not sure whether it had been worn. I know unissued they come without the buttons attached (I did buy one in that state years ago, but grew out of it), but I'm guessing some of them must get issued, have buttons attached, and then not get worn much or at all... I'm very much a fan of DB, but there's something about this SB version, maybe it's the cut, but it almost feels more like a sleeved cloak... I like how, fully buttoned, it also has a bit of an Uncle Fester look to it. Doubtless that will be put into use some Halloween...