Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vintage(?) Glass Christmas Ornaments

PrettySquareGal

I'll Lock Up
Does anyone know how to date glass ornaments? I bought these today from an estate that had both old and new Christmas ornaments mixed together in a box. I was thinking these might be 1950's, but I'm not sure!

ornaments.jpg

PrettySquareGal

I'll Lock Up
One other Christmas item to ask any possible experts: Do you have any idea what the things on the back of the stand-up Santa are about?

santa1.jpg

santa2.jpg

I'm wondering if it was once attached to something. Maybe it was the front of a plastic candy container?

imoldfashioned

Call Me a Cab
Nice stuff PrettySquareGal! I'm no expert but I'd guess late 50's/early 60's on both items. I've no idea what that things on the back of Santa are for--I hope someone else does though because now I'm intrigued!

I actually used up an old Pier 1 gift certificate yesterday and bought a glass ornament christmas wreath for my door. I can't believe they have holiday stuff out already but it gets earlier every year. The vintage stuff is infinately nicer, you were lucky to find those things.

PrettySquareGal

I'll Lock Up
Thanks! I hope you're right about my ornaments being old! I would hate to see them new in a box at Tar-jey. I see a lot of Christmas things at the sales I attend, but mostly newer QVC-ish type stuff.

When will you hang your wreath? :)

MrNewportCustom

Call Me a Cab
Very nice, PSG! I also think that Santa did double duty: He could stand alone or was attached to something. The posts on the back would have held it out from whatever he was attached to, either because it was narrower than he or bushy (such as a wreath). Whatever the case, it looks like he has a serious case of dandruff on his right shoulder. :D