Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What's in your lunch box?

St. Louis

Practically Family
Technically I would not have carried a lunch box to work, not as a gainfully employed woman. I presume I would have eaten lunch in the employee cafeteria or brought my tunafish popovers to eat in a nearby park. (This is from a scene in one of my all-time favorite movies, The Devil And Miss Jones.) I believe people never ate at their desks, which is what I do most days. But let's imagine I work in a factory or a store and I can't afford to eat in the cafeteria.

I've been looking for a fairly clean 1930s or 1940s lunch box, ideally something with a useable thermos. No luck yet, mostly because I'm still learning how to date those things and I really don't want to end up with something from the 1950s by mistake.

I'm trying to figure out whether the classic dome-top metal boxes were actually around during the golden era. It seems to me that the picnic-basket style lunch boxes (oval or square) were mostly used by children.

So now, what should go inside such a lunch box? How would you wrap the food to transport it to work?Would I bring a sandwich wrapped in wax paper? A slice of cake? Fruit? I've never seen anything in period magazines on preparing lunch for one's husband, and I'm a bit stumped. Did they have soup thermos containers? Maybe a hard-boiled egg or a potato?

LizzieMaine

Bartender
Dome top lunch boxes were common in the thirties -- they were most often carried by factory workers, because most factories didn't have a lunch area. The dinner whistle blew at noon, and you'd sit down on a bench right there on the factory floor and eat your food.