Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A2 re-dye advice needed

dinomartino1

A-List Customer
I just got this buzz rickson rough wear and though I'm sure there are fans of the colour but it's not for me. I would like to keep it as it's the best fitting A2 i've ever had so my only option is a home redye to dark brown.
I know this is going to kill the value but I'm willing to take the chance as if it comes out half decent thus will hopefully be the last A2 I buy.
I've never done anything like this before son any advice and tips will be much appreciated.

1. This was anilined dyed?
2. If it was, that means the dye is permeated right through the leather and nothing is going to remove it, you cannot take it back to a bare finish?
3. Would putting a dark brown dye over the existing colour work?

I'm in Australia and might not be able to get the same products the are available overseas.
I can get anything from the tandy Australia website.
The dyes there are ecoflow and fiebings.
The link for the dyes.
https://www.tandyleather.com.au/en/category/dyes-antiques

4. Which dye is best to use oil, spirit or water based.
5. The colour charts for the dyes are not that good the is darkest brown for each type the best to get close to seal brown.
5. How much do dye you need.
6. Do you need to apply a cleaner first like acetone.
7. How long to wait to apply the dye if you have used a cleaner first.
8. What is the best way to apply the dye.
9. Any tips for avoiding getting dye on the liner and knits.
9. Do you need to apply some kind of topcoat or finish over the dye when you are done, if you do how long after dyeing.

P1010269.jpg
P1010272 (1).jpg

Last edited:

dinomartino1

A-List Customer
Take it to a company that does this professionally.