Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Aero Jackets Weak/Fragile Zippers

JacketAddict

One of the Regulars
The weak, fragile zippers on at least 2 of my Aero horsehide jackets are now broken and one of them has hardly ever been worn yet. If you have never seen one of these zippers it might surprise you to see a zipper of the type you might find on a cheap nylon windbreaker. I am not an expert on zippers but this has got to be one of the smallest "guage" zippers available on the market today.

Aero hides the pin side of the zipper inside a small groove or channel so that when you attempt to slide the box of the zipper onto the pin side you have to get it exactly into place by feel otherwise it gets cocked and over time the tiny fragile pin side and tape soon gets bent and crooked until finally it is destroyed. It is almost impossible to get the box onto the pin without looking and if the jacket fits properly it can be very difficult to look down and see it and when you try to fold it up to see it better of course the zipper sides are totally out of line and again impossible to connect them. I believe Aero does this to provide a better method for locating the box to the pin but in my opinion it is a huge design failure.

I am wondering such a "high quality" and expensive jacket Aero uses such cheap zippers? I would expect a good hefty, strong zipper (you would never find of these cheap zippers on a Langlitz or a Vanson for example) on a $1200 size 52 motorcycle style horsehide jacket and it should be very easy to zip up or down in the matter of 1/2 second instead of futzing around for 3-5 minutes everytime you want to zip it up.

Thankfully I have a local "leather lady" who knows her stuff and can put this right - of course at my expense.

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up