Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Any Akubra's in Melbourne?

Alucard73

One of the Regulars
Hello. I am new to the Lounge. I was wondering where I could get a nice Akubra fedora in Melbourne, Australia. I am in Texas but my wife is over there now until July 12 and she is under orders (more a request) to get me an Akubra. Recomendations in style are also requested. Thanks.

KeyGrip

A-List Customer
I would think that any hat shop in the city worth it's salt would be fully stocked with Akubras; the way I understand it is that Akubra is national hat of Australia. The Akubra website might have a dealer locator to help find specific stores. As for fedoras, I have a "Sydney", and it makes a great fedora. They are usually sold open crown, but it you buy at a shop the clerk may bash it for you.

MattJH

One Too Many
Agreed on the Sydney Fedora. At one point or another, I've owned the Sydney, Stylemaster, Federation (original), Traveller, Casual, Plainsman, and Cattleman. The Sydney is by far the most versatile one they offer, as far as I'm concerned.

ADHD librarian

One of the Regulars
The Styles commonly sold in Australia are not always the same as those sold in the American Market. So you might want to look at their Australian web page (which doesn't have all the styles you'll find in stores, but will give you some ideas). http://www.akubra.com.au/products_fashion.html

The best place for your wife to go and have a look would be City Hatters
on Flinders Street (Under the Flinders Street Station Clock is probably a better indication than a street number).