Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Any difference between normal and front quarter horsehide?

Faisalha9159

New in Town
I was wondering if anyone could throw any light on the differences between regular horsehide and front quarter horsehide.

How do the two compare side by side in terms of looks and wear?

Peacoat

Bartender
It is my understanding the FQ is thicker, but I have no first hand experience after it has come off of the horse. While still attached to the horse, I can't tell any difference either visually, or by feel.

jacketquest

Familiar Face
My limited understanding is that front quarter HH is just what it says, namely that it comes from the front quarters of the horse. Apparently this is the more desirable part of the hide in terms of leather quality and consistency. Shell cordovan, for example, comes from this part of the hide.

Fletch

I'll Lock Up
According to Allen-Edmonds,
The shell is the subcutaneous layer that covers the posterior (rear end) and is the only leather that will not wrinkle and is inherently water-resistant.
Now either someone's a little confused here or A-E is getting its cordovan from the south ends of northbound horses! lol

Alan Eardley

One Too Many
Surely any leather that is 'inherently water resistant' would be incapable of being tanned! Cordovan is from the crup (rear flanks) of a horse.

Cordovan shells are too small to use in jacket manufacture, but are the premium leather for shoes. They are prized for their durability and 'stretch' - they take and maintain a shape over a last more evenly than other 'cuts' of leather for a given thickness *. Front quarter cuts have almost the same properties and is larger, so thay can be used in clothing manufacture.

* Source: Vass, L. & Molnar, M. (1999) Handmade Shoes for Men. Konemann, Koln.

HungaryTom

One Too Many