Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Appropriate times to wear a fedora

Papa Smurf

Familiar Face
Hi everyone,
I am new to the hat scene but I love it! I was wondering... Is there any proper time to wear a fedora with slacks and a polo shirt, and if so what type of fedora would work? Thanks in advance!!

-Ryan

lc1484

One of the Regulars
Anytime you feel like it!! Wear what you want. I base it on the weather and what I feel like wearing...When I pair the hat with something more than casual, then I color coordinate.

welcome to the FL

Larry

:D

CRH

Call Me a Cab
Papa Smurf said:
Hi everyone,
I am new to the hat scene but I love it! I was wondering... Is there any proper time to wear a fedora with slacks and a polo shirt, and if so what type of fedora would work? Thanks in advance!!

-Ryan

Welcome to the lounge, Ryan :eusa_clap.

I wear fedoras with anything and everything and usually dress pretty casual. My only suggestion as to what type of fedora is whatever type tickles your fancy :). In general for me thin ribbons are more casual and wider ribbons more dressy.

Once you get some ideas from other loungers please feel free to make up your own rules!

M6Classic

One of the Regulars
Except during straw hat season or at Fenway Park, I wear a fedora pretty much every time I leave home, regardless of my attire or the occasion. A fedora is a very versatile hat, especially when compared to, say, a Homburg, which is more formal, a bowler, which raises all kinds of etiquette issues, and a newsboy cap which you probably would not wear to a dressy affair. To my mind, a fedora can go anywhere at any time. I have eight fedoras, some I wear for knocking around, some I think look better when I have on a suit. I have a black fedora which I wear with...I know, I know, the horrors...a tuxedo.