Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Clothing on my sidecar...

cbrunt

One of the Regulars
Motorcycle Clothing??

Hiya Gang,

Just joined the group. Very cool place ! By way of an intro, my name is Clint Brunt. From Texas, now living in Maryland. Served 5 years in the Army as an M1A1 crewman (1991-1996) The 1930s and 1940s, especially WW2 have been really big interests of mine since childhood. I've been reenacting for about 10 years now, but only recently have decided to try taking that interest in history into the civilian world.

So... I hope someone out there can help or provide advice. This question is kind of vague and rambling... Please forgive me...

I'm looking for ANY info regarding the clothing popular with motorcyclist of the period. I've been lucky enough to find some original color home videos of motorcyclists in 1947 on a winter outing. They are wearing WW2 surplus leather bomber jackets, "tanker" jackets, shoepacs, HBT pants, etc, etc. They were even using a Coleman M41 stove for making soup or coffee (the body was painted OD). Makes sense as this stuff would have flooded the market by then.

Anyway I have a 1937 H-D "W" which I ride around and want to put together a nice period outfit for special outings. I don't mean period "feel" but something truly correct. I have a few images of motorcyclists of the period, but really don't know civilian duds enough to know what to look for.

Dare I hope that there is anyone else here interested in vintage motorcycling?

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated !

Clint

scotrace

Head Bartender
Staff member
Welcome to The Fedora Lounge, cbrunt! we're glad to have you here.