Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Cognac - where to begin?

MsStabby

One of the Regulars
I have no experience with cognac/brandy, but every year around this time I get an itch to buy a bottle. Relaxing at the end of a long cold day with a glass of lovely carmel-colored liquid, sitting next to the fire is so romantic! But where to begin?

I've poked around the interwebs a bit, and at the low end the Martell VS gets good reviews, particularly for the price. Then there's Courvoisier, and its reputation precedes it.

What is a good affordable (all relative of course) cognac/brandy to get started?

LordBest

Practically Family
I started with the middle (VSOP generally) range big names, Courvoisier, Henessy, Remy Martin to get a feel for cognac before trying the XO. Try a vew VSOPs (or VS) and if there is one you particularly like, move up to a 'superior' version.
Personally I would recommend Courvoisier or Remy Martin. Oh, good glassware makes a big difference.

Edit: I'm just an enthusiastic amateur, no expert. In terms of affordability, it helps having a relative who travels a lot and can take advantage of duty free shopping.

Cognac is of course a grape based brandy from specific regions of France. There are other regions of French brandy that are not called Cognac but usually the term Alembic Brandy that refers to the type of still used in the process. The other term is Amagnac. There are terms for the content percentage of the specific regional grapes and ratings of the number of stars or VO & VSOP but price tends to be a good general rating of quality too.