Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Detroit Race Riots of 1943-HELP!

RedHotRidinHood

Practically Family
I need some help here, and some advice.

Here's a little background: I went to an estate sale yesterday down the street from my house. The daughter of the woman who had passed away is running the sale, and we got to talking, and now, as of today, I will be selling a whole bunch of stuff on eBay for her soon. ( This is what I do for a living.) Not only were her parents in VAUDEVILLE in the 20s and possibly the teens, but her father was a reporter for the Detroit Free Press ( I think it was that paper) for about 20 years. Apparently, on or about June 20th or 21st, 1943, her father and a staff photographer friend of his went down to where the rioting was happening and took candid pictures. Well, the daughter still has the ORIGINAL black and white 8x10s that they took that day, there are 20 or so of them, and she wants to make sure they fall into the right hands. I plan to sell them for her, but I have to say-they are graphic and very disturbing. Bloody and a very scary look at what it might have meant to be black in Detroit in 1943. We sat there and looked at them and I cried-it hurt me so much to think that people could be like this. She has had them her whole life and it still made her cry. It was a weird moment, but we are determined to find the right buyer for these. I have to look into any limitations I might have as to what I can show in the eBay listing, but I think that is where they are going to end up. I was kind of hoping someone might have some advice or ideas as to the right way to market them. I know how cold that sounds, but this is my business. I do, however, want them to be seen by the right people who will know how to best preserve them for history's sake.