Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Golden Era Hallowe'en Party

Bubble Cheeks

New in Town
Hello! I'm new here. I do believe this is my first post! :)
My name is Lenore. I am 33. I am a native New Orleanian. I now live in NYC. (Astoria Queens, actually). I'm into the 40's and 50's, and am very much into tiki. I'm a tiki and retro illustrator and designer. Nice to "meet" you!

OK, so now I'll get to my question. Hallowe'en is my favorite holiday of the year, and this year I am going to go all out and am throwing a Golden Era Hallowe'en Party. I've been doing some research, and realize that the 20's and 30's is when Hallowe'en parties were at the height of elegance and wonder. Truth be told, because I have spent so many years now completely immersed in tiki and Polynesian culture from the 40-50's, I must admit to being quite a bit ignorant when it comes to the breathtaking glamor of The Golden Era. (Which, as of late, has been relentlessly seducing me to learn about it more and more...)

Does anybody have any party tips for me? Music? Food? Decorations? Party games? I have quite a few vintage Hallowe'en decorations, and am yearning to get my hands on a Bogie Book. No small feat. But I thought I would come here and ask the experts.

Many Thanks!
Lenore :)

Bubble Cheeks

New in Town
Thank you for the link! :) Isn't it wonderful? I think I have just about bought out their store already. lol Many of my decorations came from them. I'm trying to figure out the most authentic way of putting it all together. Overall mood, music, lighting, food, and how to assemble the decorations in a way that makes one feel as if they are truly at a Hallowe'en party in The Golden Era.