Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Help, need some clarification from the experts!! What's the difference between...

holdemchamp1225

One of the Regulars
a M445 A and a M445 B? Just wondering as they look similar. Are these jackets referred to as an ANJ4? Were these jackets issued to the Navy like the G-1s and the ANJ4 to the Air Force or are they the same jacket with different designations? I took a look at the ELC and Aero sites to find info but was unsuccessful.

Any and all help to clarify would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Bruce

H.Johnson

One Too Many
I'm no expert, but...

I do know the difference between the M445-A and B (there was also an M445) Basically, the M445-A doesn't have the goatskin belt around the waistline, the wind flap is made of sheepskin rather than goatskin (as in the B), the goatskin reinforcement on the sleeves is diamond-shaped rather than square (as in the B), and the zipper spans the length of the front, rather than stopping short and having buttons at the bottom (as in the B).

They were all US Navy (and Marine?) jackets (the 'M' tells us that). The Army/Navy (AN-J-4 ) jackets are similar but different.

I have a Willis and Geiger M445-A that is as rare as it is beautiful - a ridiculously well-made jacket for wartime production. Being mainly used to wartime 'Irvin' jacket construction I continue to be amazed at how much care and attention goes into these USN jackets.

John Lever

One Too Many
The m445a does have the goatskin belt and buttons with the square arm patches[at least mine does]. The m445 has no buttons and has diamond arm patches and the zip is full length up to the throat..
Not sure about the m445b...it could be something as small as whether the cuffs are sheep skin or goat skin.

H.Johnson

One Too Many
John,