Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

How common is the wind string?

Wally in Cincy

One of the Regulars
I bought a beautiful vintage Selentino fedora from a lounger and found it had an elastic band which apparently is called a "wind string" (or I may have the nomenclature wrong). Being a newbie to all this I gather this is the sign of a well made hat. Any thoughts would be welcome.

Just trying to learn some things here. Thanks in advance.

P.S. I will probably wear this to the Pittsburgh Pirates opener Thursday. Watch for me. The hat is worthy of a screen shot. It's real nice.

tealseal

A-List Customer
Wally, I am no expert, I may be off base, and might irk some folk here who are experts for this, but its the internet so here you go (remember what you paid for my opinion)
I've looked at many a lounge thread and I've seen hats with wind cords and lots without. However, in all the times I have been in hat stores, I have never seen a modern hat with a wind cord. So, I would venture that they were "quite common" in the Hat Era. However, I do not believe that having a wind cord is the sign of a quality or well made hat. There are many quality vintage hats on this forum that do not have wind cords. That being said, I'm sure your Selentino is a high quality piece. I am merely suggesting that the presence of a wind cord not be the measure of a hats quality on its own, just like the mere presence of leather seats should not decide the quality of an automobile.
All the best, TS

Aureliano

I'll Lock Up
does that break the record as the quickest response ever? LOL

Thanks Auerliano care to elaborate?

lol I'm too succinct at times, I guess. I did answer your question though? lol