Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

New Fedora + Light Rain = Bumps - What to do?

ryang

New in Town
Hi all, I am fairly new to fedoras (have had an Akubra Fed IV for around 1 year and a Penman for a little less) and I just bought my first "hat shop" hat in Tulsa on Saturday at "The Brothers Hat Shop" (great place, lots of feds, and great guys there - "Red" helped me find the right hat). It is a brown Stetson Hampton. Beautiful hat. Of course I wanted to wear it to church on Sunday but it was raining. I have worn my other feds in the rain several times in the past and have had no problems so I really thought nothing of it. Well I noticed later when I touched the crown that there are now bumps all over it from the rain. Here's a pic...

IMG_1539-1.jpg

The pic really doesn't show them that well. I've tried brushing them out but that doesn't seem to help. Do you all have any suggestions for me? I have thought of wetting the whole thing but was not sure if that was the right course of action.

Help me fedora gurus, you're my only hope!

Artie

Suspended
Have you tried brushing it with a hat brush. I believe it's counterclockwise as you look down at the hat. It sounds like the moisture raised the knapp on the felt. A good brushing should take care of it.

Yeps

Call Me a Cab
The bumps are the nests of dangerous Oklahoma Felt Spiders, they lay their eggs via raindrops on hats, and then 6 weeks later, those bumps will explode and seven million golf ball sized spiders will emerge.

Sorry I can't actually help, I wish you luck in solving this mystery.

Jerekson

One Too Many