Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

New here but not to hats: Cap info requested

guitone

Familiar Face
Hello,

I have been wearing hats for many many years. I just plain like them as do you folks. I have worn what I call regular hats (mentioned here mostly as fedoras) and have finally found a cap I like. When I was in London in February I looked and looked but just did not like the narrow fitting ivy caps there...I started looking here and found both 8 panels and ivy styles that interested me. I took a drive to Del Monico's in New Haven and found some Borsalino caps, but 8 panel and ivy. The ivy surprised me in that I liked it a lot in a solid charcoal, more than the solid 8 panel (although there was one plaid 8 panel that I did really like). Anyway, I went back about 8 pages of forum posts and did not see anything on ivy caps and wondered why? The Borsalino Doria Gruppo is very nice, fits fuller than other ivy caps I have seen. Now I seem to be on the hunt for a nice 8 panel, maybe a twill or something like that, checked out B! Wear and they do seem to have some nice patterns on that site. Sizing I know is not consisitent from one make to another as my head measures 22 inches but in the ivy I took a 58cm and in the 8 panel I would have needed a 57, same maker. Any good resources would also be appreciated. Very nice to find other folks like me, I just don't see many men wearing hats..I have worn hats for the past 20+ years and enjoy the look...caps add more opportunity to wear a hat.

guit

SHARPETOYS

Call Me a Cab
He can make it for you.

Hello, If you have a picture of the hat Brett can make it for you. I'm a 7 3/8 long oval plus 1 /16. His hat fits me like it should custom made.