Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Opinions for Alpha MA1's

Jägernaut

Practically Family
Anyone have any experience with these jackets as to the quality? I'm not looking for Buzz Rickson accuracy or cost. I dont want shoddy quality either. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Doctor Strange

I'll Lock Up
If you mean their current line available everywhere (vs. their occasional special versions), the quality is fine for ordinary daily use. But there's little about the fit/sizing or materials/construction that's remotely approaching the same plane as original vintage models or good repros.

I've been wearing one as one of my main winter jackets for the last several years, and it's held up fine, and it's plenty warm over a good sweater. Alpha MA-1s are certainly better than the cheap Rothco knockoffs. Just don't kid yourself that they're anything other than modern mass-market garments.

Picture... Yes, I know this one is actually a size larger than I need. I specifically wanted it big for layering and extra body length. Don't hate me 'cause I went for wintertime practicality over "original close-fitting sizing".

MA1a.13.jpg

Last edited:
Some makers now have a "slim" fit model, which I prefer. It depends on your build and the look you want.
I do know that most of these cheaper ones are made in China, if that matters to you. I'd rather try to find one made in the USA - either a vintage jacket, or perhaps Cockpit makes them here still?

devilish

A-List Customer
If you search eBay you can often find NOS Made in America Alphas. They cost about the same as Alpha charges for the Made in China ones they now sell. Fairly similar to the last of the military contract versions they made. They are short and wide so finding the right fit is a little tricky but this is true of vintage service issued MA-1's also.