Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Quality of Alpha Jackets?

The Good

Call Me a Cab
I'm considering the purchase of a G-1 leather jacket made by a company known as "Alpha." It seems to be a relatively cheap option out there.

http://www.jaxmercantile.com/product.php?productid=378702&cat=0&page=152

I'm a complete rookie when it comes to leather jackets. I have never actually owned one, beside a particular ill-fitting one that was given to me in the past couple of years, but that's another story. Does anyone have any experience with this company and the quality of their jackets? I would like to know something, before I spend $230 dollars on something that may not be very durable. I'm aware that there are much better quality G-1s out there, but I am shopping on a budget, in this case at or about the $200 to $250 dollar price range.

It doesn't appear to state the quality of the leather on the shop linked above, but on the Alpha website it says that it is goatskin.

http://www.alphajacketsonline.com/proddetail.php?prod=MLG21110C1

Doctor Strange

I'll Lock Up
Alpha's nylon jackets (MA-1, B-15, etc.) are good - not super-outstanding "repro" quality, but decently made, very functional garments. I have no experience with their leathers... which I suspect that they don't make themselves, but just slap their label onto.

Their G-1 is probably very similar to those of US Wings, Legendary USA, Cockpit, Gibson & Barnes, etc. All are well-made, tough jackets: goatskin G-1s are pretty standard items, and many can be found in the under-$250 range. For a better fit, I would look for one in 38-40-42 sizing rather than S-M-L.

Oh, and don't forget eBay - you can likely get a lightly used G-1 (perhaps even an issued milspec one) for less $.