Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Second opinions on this dress?

retronista

New in Town
Hi ladies! So I've purchased my very first vintage-inspired dress from ModCloth, but since I am new to vintage style, I figured I'd post a picture of myself wearing it for 2nd opinions. I do like the dress, but I'm not sure if it's flattering on me. I'm also just an indecisive shopper all around lol so feedback is always welcome! I'm holding the dress at the back, as unfortunately it is big on me in the waist, and I'll have to get it tailored. Considering the dress was already quite expensive, I'm not sure it's worth the additional costs. But like I said, I'm on the fence, so please let me know what you think! :)

http://tinypic.com/r/k06gco/6

Miss Golightly

Call Me a Cab
That's a beautiful dress! My feelings on the matter are if the dress was expensive (and you love it) then it's worth going the extra mile to get it tailored to fit properly otherwise you may not wear it.

I get the majority of my vintage dresses altered in some way so they fit me properly - it has cost me a lot but I think it's worth it - particularly for the pieces I love!

retronista

New in Town
Thank you Miss Golightly! It's funny because as much as I've admired vintage fashion all my life, it's only now that I'm trying it out for myself and it's turning out to be quite a challenge in figuring out which styles I prefer/look best on me. A very fun challenge, nevertheless! I've also never taken anything to the tailor before lol so that'll be a new experience as well. But like you said, it's definitely worth the extra money to look and feel your best. Thanks for your feedback! :)

Last edited:

LolitaHaze

Call Me a Cab