Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Texas Fires

Gregg Axley

I'll Lock Up
Any members have this going on around them?
I have a FIL who's mother lost her house, in Linden, and another relative being evacuated in Crockett.
Really scary.

LoveMyHats2

I’ll Lock Up.
Geez, they sure do everything big in Texas. I personally and with all serious respect, hope they will have those fires under control soon. Seems like we have had enough of things happen this year as it is.

MikePotts

Practically Family
Thanks for your concern guys, the fire that is West of Austin is about 60 mles East of me. So far......everyone around here has been sensible and well behaved, and we have had no fires close by, but I do feel like I've been holding my breath for 4 months, trusting that our good fortune continues and the house doesn't burn and the well doesn't run dry.

MP

Renault

One Too Many
I'm a fifth generation Bastrop County Texas resident. Currently where the big fire is.... I've posted some stuff down in the Temp in you live thread. It's pretty bad here. Worst I've seen here ,,,, ever..... Sis in law lost everything, along with 475 other households....... Very surreal.

I made the comment earlier........ I was in Gulfport Ms D+5 after Katrina. In New Orleans that January. Rita here. Some for volunteer work and some as I was working emergency operations with the state. I had hoped I would never have to see this kind of thing ever again..... When you get older, this stuff affects you differently ...........

Thanks to you all for your concern and thoughts!!!!!!

Renault

Last edited:

rue