Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Thanks (and a question) from a newbie

Michael Bradley

New in Town
I’m a 63-year-old hat newbie; I bought my first hat - a Lock Voyager trilby - just a month ago, and I’m very happy to have discovered I was a hat guy all along! And I expect that the Voyager will always be a useful - if overpriced - travel- and rain hat.

And now, entirely thanks (see below) to what I’ve learned from everyone’s generous postings here, I’m meeting Graham Thompson next week at Fino Fino to order an Optimo (or two!). I’d already got to the point of promising myself that if I was ever able to get myself to Chicago, I’d also get myself to Optimo Hats; now the mountain’s coming to me!

My thanks especially - but by no means limited to, and in no particular order - to Matt, Fedora, Zane, Art, Andykev, etc., etc. A very short time ago I was a hat ignoramus; now I know just enough to be dangerous!

I do have a question - though I think the answer is implicit in the facts. Before I knew Graham was going to hold a trunk show here, I had talked to another hatter (I was tempted by his very enticing price for a beaver fedora with a Cavanaugh edge, and, over the phone, he seemed to be both very personable and very competent). And yesterday I received some felt samples from him.

Now, the answer seems obvious to me, but I’d like to know whether I’m judging from my ignorance. The samples were sandwiched between two pieces of paper, and the paper was stained by them - a powdery stain. And when I rubbed the samples with a wet finger tip, the color was transferred to my finger tips. Is this the luering [sic] powder I’ve seen referred to on the Lounge? I do know that if these samples are from felts he’d use, I don’t want his hats.