Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Tuxedo Coordination

Mr_Misanthropy

Practically Family
Hello everyone. I've got a big party in August i'm attending which is considered "formal". I have a gray herringbone patter tuxedo, as seen here

100_1214.jpg

I'm going to get a basic white tuxedo shirt (not sure if I want laydown or wing collar) to go with it for sure. I've always heard it's apppropriate to have a bowtie that is the same and fabric as your lapels. On this tux, the lapels are dark gray satin. So do I need a gray bowtie/cummerbind, or would black be forgiveable? Maybe if I had black shoes it'd be OK. And what sort of hat do I wear with a tuxedo? Any?

This is my first time wearing this tux since I had it tailored, so, I have no idea what to wear it with. Any suggestions are welcome! This event isn't until August, so, no rush!! I just want to have time to order things if I need to. Thanks!!

Tomasso

Incurably Addicted
Sharp rig Mr.M. I would vote for a turn-down collared shirt and black satin bow tie/cummerbund(self-tie bow tie). Black shoes with grey(?) socks. Add a white linen pocket square. As for headwear, I do recall reading that proper Summer headwear for formal (semi-formal in this case, white tie being formal) dress would include a boater and a Panama but I would defer to others at the lounge on this matter.

Art Fawcett

Sponsoring Affiliate
Better yet Mr_M...a homburg Panama!! MK is correct, the Homburg is acceptable for this. It will be pretty tough to get the matching accessories with grey so by all means follow Tomasso's advise as he is correct. Most of all, have fun!!

Zach R.

Practically Family
Some people can pull off a cummerbund, some can't. Myself, I like them.