Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

WANTED: Woody's specs (eyeglass frames, that is)

Sefton

Call Me a Cab
I hope that someone will be able to sell me a pair of these distinctive eyeglass frames or point me to a reliable source.

I've been wearing eyeglasses since I was 3 years old and have been collecting different types for about 20 years now. Over the years I've come close, but I've not yet found a pair that are identical to the style that have become Woody Allen's trademark. There are many similar ones out there, but always some element is wrong; too much curve on the brow, wrong rivet guards (the little silver metal bits on the front, near the hinges), etc., etc.

The Criss Optical model called "Yank" comes close in many ways, but their dimensions aren't right. All of their models have a lens width to height ratio of about 12mm--i.e., 46mm wide X 34mm height. Ideally it should be only a 10mm difference (46mm wide X 36mm high). The Criss Yank is too rectangular.

The vintage frames made by the Tart Arnell corp. are very close. The bad news there is that it is widely known (and exploited) that they are favored by Johnny Depp. A decent pair will set you back $300-$400! If Mr.Depp didn't wear them I guarantee that they'd be a more sane price of between $30-$100. They're nice frames, but they're not worth $400.

Here's what I want:
Must be black color-no translucent or stripes. Rivet guards are rectangular or diamond shaped.

Frame width: 5"-5 1/4". Frame height: approx. 1 5/8".

Temple arms: 5" 3/4"-6" long.

Lens dimensions: 46mm wide.

Lens height: 36mm to 37mm.

This four-eyes would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks!

Sefton

Call Me a Cab
David Conwill said:
How about:

a) The Shuron Freeway or Sidewinder?

or

b) Zenni No. 3666?

I've been toying with buying the Zennis as a pair of sunglasses.