Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Well its official...

rebelgtp

One of the Regulars
Well its official, I am now a college student yet again. I just received my acceptance letter EOU. As I have mentioned before I have recently moved from Portland out to Eastern Oregon. Basically I was dead tired of sitting at a desk day in and day out helping people with their computers and going slowly insane. A couple years ago I received my certification as a conservation detection dog handler, yet I've never done much with it. So after getting passed over for a promotion at work I decided that was it I'm heading back to school.

I have quite a bit of family out here and currently I'm staying at my Mom's place helping her out while I wait for school to start. I was accepted into the Biology program at the University and I'm thinking I am going to get a second major in Anthropology. I'm transferring in with about a years worth of valid credits already under my belt so that is going to help.

It will be weird going back to school at 27 but better then going back later on and at least I will be doing field work not sitting at a desk all day once I'm out. Guess it kinda helps that I already have a job in the field I want to work in huh? Anyway thats the big news from this side. So I better get my stuff done for the display window I'm setting up because in a little over a month I'm going to be busy with classes.

Sertsa

One of the Regulars
Congrats! I had to leave college early for various reasons--mostly financial--at one time, then went back. I was worried about being a bit older, as well (mid-late 20s), but it turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I kept working full time while getting a BA degree, but I then stayed on and took an assistantship for my MA.

pennycarrol

A-List Customer