Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Who Does Without TV?

Paisley

I'll Lock Up
I never got around to getting a digital antenna and have been without TV for a month. I watch DVDs and have started getting books on CD from the library. (You can also download audio books.)

How do you get along without TV?

December

One of the Regulars
We don't have a TV either.

We use a computer to watch films etc and my fiance downloads any shows he wants to watch. There's not a lot on that I want to watch.

As a student, I have a lot of spare time. Especially now that I'm on summer holiday, so I use the internet, read, tidy the room we live in and I'm starting to experiment with making clothes now.

I could easily live without TV. Saying that, I desperately want a vintage set!

Nick D

Call Me a Cab
Been without TV for nearly two years. Didn't have it for a year in 2005-2006, either. We watch movies on a laptop, the time before we had a TV and DVD and VCR.

It's nothing to do with digital (I don't know if they've even made the switch here), we don't want to pay the TV license.

It's not so bad, though there are some things I miss, like Stargate reruns.

Foofoogal

Banned
I wouldn't miss it except for the news. I use it for music channels. Honey thinks he would die without it.
He cannot see my need for the computer and I cannot see the need for his tv. I have made a new pact to not get on the net while he is present. I sneak sometimes. It is hard. lol
It is a big thing for him for me to sit and watch tv with him. I hate most of the shows as it is usually someone dying or getting blown up but I do sit with him with a magazine.

DerMann

Practically Family
Yeah, the TV is usually for background noise when I fall asleep. I would leave my monitor on, but I'd hate to accidentally burn an image into it.