Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Wilson Leathers Open Road

Atticus Finch

Call Me a Cab
I've always liked classic motorcycle jackets and have been wanting to buy an entry level something to see if I could pull off that style. Decided on a used Wilson Leathers Open Road.

Now before y'all start guffawing, please hear me out. Those of you who frequent the outerwear threads know that I'm no novice to vintage jacket collecting. I guess I'm as much of a jacket snob as anyone here. But I didn't want to spend a bunch of money on a style that I may not be able to wear. And I no longer ride...so extreme toughness isn't a big consideration. And it was cheap enough that if I look like a dork, it won't hurt my feelings to give the jacket to my brother in law and let him look like a dork.

When told Jackie that I had purchased this jacket, she couldn't understand why. She asked why buy a motorcycle jacket if I no longer own a motorcycle. I told her its just a thing and reminded her that I've worn MA-1s since she's known me, but I don't own an F-86.

So...other than the protection afforded by the thick horsehide found in more expensive motorcycle jackets...what am I missing by buying this cheap-o?

AF

rocketeer

Call Me a Cab
Looks a nice jacket, what is the back like, single main piece with a top yolk chevron style? The only thing I dont like is the small pocket on the front but I know it is a typical feature of American bike jackets.

ProteinNerd

My Mail is Forwarded Here
She asked why buy a motorcycle jacket if I no longer own a motorcycle. I told her its just a thing and reminded her that I've worn MA-1s since she's known me, but I don't own an F-86.

LOL!!