Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Antique Hat Care

ClothesHorse

Familiar Face
I've inherited my Great Grandfathers hat, a nice old wide brimmed, high crown cowboy hat. Several homemade repairs to the hat that are certainly vintage also. I have it on a hat stretcher- snug not tight, and brush it occasionally to keep the dust off. I have it out on display (along with my grand-fathers hat, and now, sadly, my own father's).

I've searched the treads and couldn't find much on old hat care, I may even wear this bad boy to the Settler's Days that are hosted near the old homeplace in West Oklahoma. If I'm gonna wear it I will need to stretch it about an 1/8th.

What do you all think?

CH

Inusuit

A-List Customer
I'm no expert...

And free advice is always worth the price. My concern with stretching the hat would be the possibility of damage to the hat band. In older hats, the leather can dry out, crack, and break. I use Lexol or a similar leather treatment on the bands of vintage hats, and would recommend you assess the condition of the band before you try stretching it. And use a leather conditioner first in any case. From what I've learned on this forum, a hat can usually be stretched one size, i.e., from a 7 1/8 to 7 1/4. Others say they have done more. My own limited experience is that it's difficult to change the size permanently. The hat tends to revert to its original size. If it was my granddad's hat, I might be content with leaving it on display.

RBH

Bartender
Welcome to the Lounge!
A small stretch should be OK... but beware that sometimes the worst can happen.
If its a hat you plan on wearing alot, holler at Mike Moore {Buckaroo Hatters, Covington TN] he should be able to bring it up to your size and place a new sweat in it.
Good luck!

feltfan

My Mail is Forwarded Here
RBH said: