Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Back to School

dhermann1

I'll Lock Up
Well, even tho it's . . . uhhh . . . many decades since I was in school, the approach of that momentous day still has a deep emotional impact on me.
Tho it has no actual effect on my life, I hate the whole idea of the "end of summer".
Please compare and contrast.

Dan'l

Practically Family
I'm a teacher sooo... "back to school" is still a very real part of my life. It's nice, however, being on the "other side of the desk."
For me it means the end of summer vacation but it also means Autumn is near and that's always been my favorite season. Cooler temps and fewer insects, time to go camping.
Every year my students are the same age as the previous group, but I'm always a year older :p

Beaubeau

New in Town
I lived in an area that started school that to most people were extremely early. Fine example of this was the first time I tried to read the first Harry Potter book: I started reading the first Harry Potter book the first day of school in 1999. I read up to where Hagrid gives Harry his Hogwarts letter that says that Hogwarts, a boarding school, started September First and I closed the book and was like "Well, there's nothing I can relate to in here...". That day was August 3, 1999.

So to me, the end of July is very "Oh Schooltimes, the advent of the start of learning! The sacred halls of learning and exploration, etc. etc." emotionally.

Undertow

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Autumn is my favorite season, but the beginning of school has always put me in a funk, regardless of age. College was a slight exception because I wanted to be there, but even then I was dreading it.

I didn't enjoy school much, and I had very bad experiences there. The end of summer was very much akin to the end of life for me.:(

RetroToday