Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Borsalino from Paul's Hat Works?

bluelight

New in Town
I just joined TFL and acquired my first Borsalino for $75 at an estate sale. Since I'm a relative newbie to fedoras, I'm hoping someone can enlighten me.

1) What is that elastic string with the small button resting under the bow that goes around the hatband?

2) Curiously, the only markings on the inner leather sweatband say "Borsalino, Made in Italy, Antica Casa, Fondata Nel, 1857." That's it. Even curiouser, the inner lining says "qualita superiore, Borsalino, 1857, Alessandria, Made in Italy," and then "Paul's Hat Works, San Francisco." It threw me that the name of the vendor was on the lining and not the sweatband. Anyone know what I have?

3) And, forgive me, but I'm curious why I have to know who the fourth president of Ireland is? Is it to make sure I'm human and not a robot, or to see if I know how to Google, or just to make sure I'm not a moron? Just curious.

Thank you in advance for welcoming me into your community.

casechopper

My Mail is Forwarded Here
#1 is called a wind cord. You unwrap it and put the button part in your lapel so that your had doesn't blow away when it's windy.

jlee562

I'll Lock Up
Stores often had their name or logo put on the sweatband. Paul's Hat Works still exists here in San Francisco, although they're under new ownership and do bespoke hats now. They might be able to tell you something though. It sounds like you have an Alessandria...pictures would help.

http://www.hatworksbypaul.com/

I just joined TFL and acquired my first Borsalino for $75 at an estate sale. Since I'm a relative newbie to fedoras, I'm hoping someone can enlighten me.