Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Christys’ Lincona

LikeableRogue

New in Town
Hi everyone

I just received this fur felt Christys’ Lincona which I purchased on eBay. It’s In good shape overall. Needs a steam and brush which is fine, but I’m also going to try and reshape it back to its original shape (or close to) as it’s quite battered! The brim is quite kinked in a couple of places and folded upwards more than it should (I think !). The pinch is also not well shaped and uneven. I’ve never done reshaping before so am pretty worried I won’t do a great job, but considering I only paid £25 I figure I can brave it - what’s the worst that could happen?! Problem is that I’m struggling to find any reference pictures of how it should look online - can anyone tell me more about this hat (when it’s from etc)? And ideally does anyone have any pictures of how it should look normally? Many thanks!
IMG_3567.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_3566.jpeg
    IMG_3566.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 46
  • IMG_3565.jpeg
    IMG_3565.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_3562.jpeg
    IMG_3562.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 52

jlee562

I'll Lock Up
Just guessing, but looks like it is old enough to have been originally sold as an open crown hat. If so, there is no reference per se, other than the profile of the uncreased crown. Crease it as you like. Just go for it, it's not as daunting as it seems. Just keep steam away from the leather.

Edward

Bartender
The first time I creased a hat, I followed this procedure.

1] Put on kettle.

2] Watch kettle boil in a nervous state. Realise steam has dissipated. Make cup of tea to soothe nerves.