Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Cone Mills to Close White Oak Plant, Last American Selvedge Denim Mill

Feraud

Bartender

Fanch

I'll Lock Up
The loud sucking sound of American jobs and equipment being transferred overseas just got louder. Maybe someone locally in NC or stateside will buy the equipment and continue operations, although I can also envision a foreign company buying the equipment.

MeachamLake

A-List Customer
I'm no denim expert, but I'm pretty sure Cone Mills went bust about a decade ago...was this just some sort of continuation of that company that has now failed under new ownership? Clearly there's something not right with their model for the same brand to go belly up twice in ten years.

With the crazy prices some guys pay for Japanese selvedge denim, there must have been something awry for them not to be a success? I'm intrigued to know more about this.

Feraud

Bartender
The loud sucking sound of American jobs and equipment being transferred overseas just got louder. Maybe someone locally in NC or stateside will buy the equipment and continue operations, although I can also envision a foreign company buying the equipment.
I hope at the very least some company is able to purchase and make use of the machinery.

kowalski

Practically Family
it is sad information ! very sad !:(:(:( I'm a collector LVS . i like/ love (?) Cone mills denim from USA
and answer;

......can thank every American who has purchased the majority of their denim from elsewhere. It is as simple as that.....

Last edited:

ProteinNerd

My Mail is Forwarded Here
With the popularity of the selfedge denim market these days (and the luxury prices it commands) I have to believe it was completely mismanaged for it to go under...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

arkadijs

Familiar Face