Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

cooper A2 how good

stu48

New in Town
Hi
im new to this wonderfull forum and am very happy to be part of it

i have a question for you and am sorry if its been asked before but how good and accurate is the cooper A2 flight jacket .

I have just won a lovely example on a certain bidding site for £120 its immaculate and unmarked it has the right pockets and no hand warmers it has an orange label in neck and a white one underneath with another made in US tab .

it has all the neck hooks one piece back and 2 piece sleeves and is made from goatskin

i no cooper made A2 jackets in the war i just wondered if this a good buy and if it would pass muster as i would like to get into USAAF reenactment

i no there are Eastman and other more expensive jackets on the market but Im on a budget due to being laid off from my job but will be looking to upgrade in the future

all help greatly appreciated kindest regards stuart

aswatland

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Hi Stuart. Welcome to TFL. My first A2 was a Cooper. It is nice entry level A2 and is well made. Cooper had one contract in the War for 5,000 A2s and the repro Cooper is not an exact copy of the Wartime jacket. The one I had had the orange label and two extra small side panels which are not features of original A2s. The zip is a modern repro rather than the Conmar used on original Coopers. They were made from horsehide rather than goatskin, but of course several contracts used russet goatskin. Today you can pick up a decent used Cooper for around £100. Enjoy your new jacket until you decide to upgrade to a more accurate repro.

stu48

New in Town
Hi Aswatland

Many thanks for quick reply and the warm welcome

mine is like yours with the orange label but no side hand warmers i will post up some pics in a bit .