Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Dimensional brims

Mulceber

Practically Family
From what I understand, they were somewhat popular in Britain during the Golden Era (which might explain why Indy had one, given that he shopped at Herbert Johnson), but otherwise, they were almost unheard of. I'm far from an expert on this though. -M

Dinerman

Super Moderator
Bartender
Dimensional brims seem to have been at least slightly popular in the 1920s and early '30s, though it was the back of the brim that was shorter, with the sides and front being the same width.

Art Fawcett

Sponsoring Affiliate
Both answers are correct Gents. The dimensional brim was considered an option only ( a very remote option) in the 20s and from what I understand was pretty much limited to HJ. Of the thousands of hats that have gone through my hands in the last 20 yrs, not one was a dimensional brim with the sides narrower than the front & back. That is an Indy thing only in my eyes because of this experience.

munchausen

One of the Regulars
You want me to do WHAT?

Art Fawcett said:
Both answers are correct Gents. The dimensional brim was considered an option only ( a very remote option) in the 20s and from what I understand was pretty much limited to HJ. Of the thousands of hats that have gone through my hands in the last 20 yrs, not one was a dimensional brim with the sides narrower than the front & back. That is an Indy thing only in my eyes because of this experience.

Hi Art

This is completely off topic, but can I ask what your signature is in regards to? ;)

Delthayre

One of the Regulars
Oh dear, an idea is bubbling upward

Dinerman said: