Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Favorite Vintage stuff that just hangs around.

reetpleat

Call Me a Cab
Vintage things that are still around. of course, buildings, as they are too expensive to replace. And of course, stuff in museums, collections, or being restored. But what about those vintage things that just seem to still be around by accident?

Growing up around gas stations, tire shops, and machine shops, i know that a lot of equipment is so good that they just keep using it. I have seen stuff as old as 1900 still being used.

As a real estate agent, I go into basements and sometimes thee is a calendar on the wall, or maybe an old advertising thermometer from the 40s stuck on a nail and just left alone day in, year out.

Do you ever go into a store in your town and see some old product that never sold and just lurks around?

What is your favorite vintage things that just seem to hang around.

davestlouis

Practically Family
Being in the funeral business, we save EVERYTHING. We have a box of pencils that must date from the 1970s...most of the funeral homes advertised on them were sold years ago. We also have a bronze casket in the selection room that has been there for years, at the value price of $8495. We also have every file since the 1890s, including meeting minutes and blueprints for buildings that were razed 30 years ago. I found a police report from 1942 for the theft of a small safe, and embalmers licenses from the 30s, still neatly stored.

Yeps

Call Me a Cab
My dorm has a steam heating system that has been here just about forever (the building was built in 1946, but I am not sure about the heating.) I guess it works, sort of.

LizzieMaine

Bartender