Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Field Leathers Bespoke - what should I expect?

Carsonius

New in Town
Hello! As you could guess from the title, I've decided I can afford a bespoke, custom made leather jacket from Greg at Field Leathers, and so I've come to ask from those who have gone through it: what can I expect out of a process like this? What's he like? What questions should I be asking, how can I prepare to be able to answer his?

To add some context: I have never done anything like this before, not even remotely close. I've never owned a proper, everyday leather jacket (dedicated, partly-armored motorcycle stuff aside), never mind had one made for me. It has however been a bucket list kinda thing for years now, and I certainly prefer to buy nice instead of twice. The extent of my knowledge and research so far has been reading every single forum thread on this site in regard to Field Leathers that isn't a for sale post.

All of that said, I would greatly appreciate any help/information you're all willing to give me.

Aloysius

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I think Field Leathers is amazing, but is a very bad idea for someone new to this kind of thing.

There are really amazing Field jackets here, but virtually all of them are from people who have considerable awareness of how these things fit, deep closets of vintage and modern jackets, etc.

Which country are you based in? (That can help with what my next suggestions are.)

Carsonius

New in Town
I think Field Leathers is amazing, but is a very bad idea for someone new to this kind of thing.

There are really amazing Field jackets here, but virtually all of them are from people who have considerable awareness of how these things fit, deep closets of vintage and modern jackets, etc.