Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

First Crosszip jacket, planning to have one made. Advice, please.

Hobbes1

A-List Customer
As stated, I'm thinking about having a crosszip made. I know that I want a low-profile one, rather than the "rock-star" type. To that end, it would have two handwarmer pockets, one external pocket with snap closure and one internal pocket. No epaulets, no external, zippered pocket(s), no studs, no belt or belt loops. Probably will have a kidney panel or half belt and a single or double yoke on the back but otherwise a single panel of leather for the back. I haven't decided on zip sleeves vs horn button (maybe even storm cuffs inside the sleeve cuff.

My question: As I have some experience with ordering a MTO Highwayman style and a CR style jacket, what tip/tricks/pitfalls should I be aware of, when ordering a crosszip?
Any guidance the more experienced here can help me with, is greatly appreciated.

I have been looking around in the Crosszip Nation thread and I have seen a few that I really like. Mostly like the 30's, brown crosszip that @tmitchell59 posted and some others...I think @Marc mndt had an Aero Bird of Prey that looked low key but great. Any thoughts and constructive help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:

Jin431

Call Me a Cab
You pretty much know why you want so that's a great start. I would not deviate from your plan, it's solid. I would recommend to go for a trim look and request for the sleeves to be slimmed down for a better silhouette.

I think @JustinW can certainly help you with this, he has that awesome brown field Leathers jacket, there's a dedicated thread for that jacket so it's a good read and will be an excellent resource for you.

https://www.thefedoralounge.com/threads/field-leathers-mc-mlc-jacket.103718/