Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

First (sorta) Post and a possible Lounger event?

JOVE23

New in Town
Hi all!!

This is my (sorta) first post here. I've been lurking forever, never had the stomach to introduce myself.

I'm a 20 year old Sophomore at Georgia State University in Atlanta. I've been wearing hats for, oh, 3-4 years. I'll take pictures of my babies when I get back from vacation in Florida. I hope to contribute to the discussions here and being an active member of the community!

Anyways, the event: For you baseball fans in the midwest, I thought this might pique your interests:

http://blogs.suntimes.com/cubs/2008/05/throwback_game_at_wrigley_on_j.html

CHICAGO – The Chicago Cubs and Atlanta Braves will play the first-ever throwback game at Wrigley Field on Thursday, June 12 at 1:20 p.m. In correlation with the 60th anniversary of Chicago Cubs baseball on WGN-TV, the Cubs will take the field in replica 1948 uniforms while the Braves will take part by wearing uniforms resembling those of the 1948 Boston Braves. WGN-TV will participate by presenting a special broadcast of the game to commemorate their 60th anniversary and the first throwback game in Cubs history.

The throwback game, presented by Pepsi, will include additional themes and festivities reminiscent of 1948.

“The Cubs and WGN have a tremendous history and have enjoyed a special relationship for the past 60 years,” said Crane Kenney, Chairman of the Cubs. “We can think of no better way to honor more than a half-century of partnership by reflecting upon and celebrating the season during which this connection began.”