Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hats That Truly Changed Your Life

AlterEgo

A-List Customer
I started to put this on the hat-astrophe thread until I realized it really didn't fit and thought it might prompt some stories of a qualitatively different genre that deserve their own dedicated thread.

"The Hat"
(Part 1 of 2)

I've mentioned this hat on Fedora Lounge before, and said then, “If it could only talk…” Since it cannot, I myself will have to tell this story in which it played the leading role.

The Hat:

My beloved grandmother sent me some money for my birthday when I was a freshman in college. I used it to purchase the hat at an upscale department store. The year was 1977, and I paid a then astonishingly expensive $55 at the store nicknamed "Needless Mark-Up" for good reason.

Made of a fine, smooth suede in a beautiful, dark amber color, it had a 1 3/4-inch, stingy brim, underwelted and finely stitched around in concentric circles; self hat band with a tall, great-looking, green, yellow, crimson, and black feather; a center-creased crown 4 inches tall at the front, 5 inches in the middle, and 4 1/2 at the rear; and two deep dents flanking the sides of the front at the very top of the crown. Though closest in form to a trilby, it had some alpine Tyrolean in its DNA, as well. Frankly, I've never seen another hat shaped quite like this one.

Inside, "Churchill" was inscribed on the full satin lining, and, in gold lettering, "genuine suede leather" and "Neiman Marcus," with its logo, printed on opposite sides of the reeded roan leather headband. At the rear was the perfectly tied ribbon bow, as well as the paper size tag--7.

Of all my earthly possessions during this period of time, if I had to pick just one, The Hat would have been my favorite.

The Story: