Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Newbie - Hi

alladin

Familiar Face
Hi,

I am a newbie and would like to say hello to everyone.

I have visited the forum a few time and read posts with interest especially the ones that feature leather jackets.

I have never owned a leather jacket but would like to own one and I am very intrigued with the Aero and Eastman leather jackets. In general, is the quality of these two brands similar?

I was considering an A2 jacket and also like the look of the Aero 'Californian' jacket. In terms of leather, I have been in touch with Aero and they have informed me that they offer front quarter horsehide, steerhide and mid-weight horsehide. Is front quarter very stiff and hard to break in? Once broken in, does it become nice and soft?

I would appreciate your advice.

Thanks.

CharlieB

A-List Customer
You might want to introduce yourself on the " New Ladies and Gents Step Forward" thread under the "Observation Lounge"

There is also an A2 thread under WWII category

Cheers

too much coffee

Practically Family
Hello alladin and welcome to the Lounge!

As you know one can get quite an education into the world of various Outerwear on this forum.
In regards to your question of quality as produced by Eastman and Aero, I would say the quality from both is usually superb.
If you do a search in reference to your question of hide selection, A-2 authenticity and break in procedures you will be overwhelmed with information from consumers(FL members) to assist in your choice. Actually it will be choices as no one here stops at one jacket!
Good luck with your purchase selection(s).

Regards, coffee

Cooperson

One Too Many