Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Pattern making learning process

spectre6000

One of the Regulars
Right off the bat, I want to be very clear here. I have never made a pattern. I have never made a garment. I am learning this as I go. I am not an expert. Disclaimer accomplished.

Meanwhile, over on page 401 of the Fivestar thread, I stole some of my daughter's art supplies and started messing around. I had a design that looks good in 2D on paper, and given the fact that Fivestar will make whatever without any guard rails against things that just don't work, I wanted to make sure that it would actually work in real life like it did in my head. Spoiler alert. Noop. Sorta. A little. Enough to make me want to keep messing with it. But, no.

The design drawn large, but ultimately a sketch of a jacket laid flat on a table top... laid flat on a table top.
IMG_5284.JPG

Then I duplicated it, cut it out, and cut through where the darts were in my drawing.
IMG_5285.JPG

Then I messed around with the angle that the darts were overlapped onto themselves, and taped them. The result was the below.
IMG_5286.JPG

The aim was to match the curvature of my back.
Pilates+Collective+Denver+-+alignment+of+the+spine.png

The problem is that the panel stops at my waist, which is where the thoracic curve turns into the lumbar curve... It's got an S-curve, but that's not what's supposed to be happening in that panel. So...