Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Rebashing Modern Stetsons, Dobbs, etc.

jbucklin

Practically Family
Living so close (like---7 minutes) to the Hatco Outlet in Garland, I've ended up with quite a few modern Stetsons that I got on the cheap. Now that I have a couple of VS masterpieces I have become quite fond of the tall, non-tapered look of the classic fedoras of the 30s. I was preparing to start selling some of the Stetsons (and one Dobbs) that I never wear because of the unbearable tapered "conehead" look but thought I might experiment with a little rebashing.

Here's a Stetson Saxon:
Photo248.jpg

A Dobbs Dayton:
Photo249.jpg

A Stetson Firenze:
Photo250.jpg

And a Stetson Temple:
Photo253.jpg

I recreased them with a diamond crease---they all came with center-dent creases:
Photo254.jpg

Sorry about the crappy MacBook camera photos.

Anyway, suggestions? Comments? Am I wasting my time, or actually sort of pulling it off?

MikePotts

Practically Family
I think that one looks MUCH better and if it gets it more 'head time' then it is definitely not a waste of time. I'd be at Hatco Outlet all the time looking for 7 3/8 deals if I lived close too!

MP

monbla256

Call Me a Cab
They all look good and are somewhat "straighter " looking crqwn wise but are not the 30's look IMHO. You need to get some Adventurer or Federation Akubra's and cut the brims down and put C-crown or Teardrop creases in 'em to get that look.

jbucklin

Practically Family
They all look good and are somewhat "straighter " looking crqwn wise but are not the 30's look IMHO. You need to get some Adventurer or Federation Akubra's and cut the brims down and put C-crown or Teardrop creases in 'em to get that look.