Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Saying Hello

MelissaAnne

One of the Regulars
Hi all -

I just joined The Fedora Lounge last night and already jumped in to post. Hope you don't mind. :)

I'm from Nebraska - Lincoln, to be exact - and grew up on a Nebraska farm. Have my BA and MA in history, even though I took awhile to go to grad school (just graduated in Dec. '04). Had to take time out to get married and have my daughter. :)

Although I've always loved classic movies, it wasn't until I went to grad school that I began to be fascinated with the 1940's and WWII. I did my master's thesis on the German POW camp at Fort Robinson, Nebraska, and how the intellectual diversion program affected the POWs. I'm also a novelist and my next series will be WWII suspense/thriller.

Looking forward to getting to know you all!

Melissa

KAT

A-List Customer
Marc Chevalier said:
Gosh! Please tell us about this!

welcome melissa
the FL is a fun place

yeah the POW stories must be interesting...im just glad my grandfather wasnt one in the USA:eusa_doh: ;)

Pilgrim

One Too Many
Welcome, Melissa. I'll echo Tony's comment: "And ya know, even the non-like-minded people are fun, too."

We have some spirited debates here, but I've been impressed with the tone and demeanor of the lounge members.

Looking forward to hearing more from you!

MelissaAnne

One of the Regulars
The Re-Education Program

Marc asked me to elaborate on my thesis, so I shall try and do so without becoming too wordy. ;) (I'm pulling a lot of this from my thesis so that I get it right!)