Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Some tips to help those who are clueless about men's fashion

dog20

Familiar Face
I'm not a fashion expert. However, I just got done reading a book about men's fashion and I would like to share all the notes I took from it. I apologize for not uploading pictures but if you're unsure of what something is, just use the images search on Google. I hope these tips help someone out.

SHOES​

-Shoes are the foundation for the outfit
-Buy THICK leather sole and leather welt (signs of good quality)
-BLACK lace up OXFORDS or black or burgundy brogues w/ suit and tie
-The MORE decoration the LESS formal it is
-Soles of shoe can be replaced to save $$
-CLOSED lacing MORE formal than OPEN lacing
-Burgundy or oxblood/cordovan (darker burgundy) is a versatile color w/ suits. It can go w/ light grey, dark grey, or beige (tan).
-Brown SUEDE shoes w/ sports jackets (Don’t get black).
-The shoes should be same/similar shade of color as belt

"How many shoes do I need?"
-Start w/ basic black closed-lacing oxfords (Formal)
-Heavy burgundy brogues for less dressy events (sports jacket and trousers)

SPIT AND POLISH METHOD: Use KIWI wax polish, a soft shoe cloth wrapped around your finger, and smear a generous amount of polish. Spit a little bit on the shoe and rub TINY circles. Go over and over the circles until a shine starts to come up (If it doesn’t, add more spit). With enough patience, you won’t need to brush off excess polish.

SUITS​
-A lightweight navy suit can be worn year round.
-When shopping, wear shoes you will be wearing w/ suit and a white dress shirt
-Tie width should be similar to Lapel width and to some extent the shirt’s collar
-Peak lapels are more formal
-Single breasted three button suit is very dressy and conservative.