Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Taking out a jacket

Splenahan

New in Town
I wear a rather large jacket size, which is often difficult to find in colors other than black, navy, and the occasional patterned. If I were to buy the next lower/next largest size (at the same length, so if I wear a 50R, I would by a 48R or 52R), could it be altered to better fit me, for a reasonable price (keep in mind, that I am a student)? Thanks for your help, in advance.

Tailor Tom

One of the Regulars
My thoughts...

I would first go to a RELIABLE mens store and have them measure you, and then try on a few coats to see what will work best. The tailor there should be able to give you an honest opinion. If he doesn't...leave and find another place.

Second, understand that most suits are cut with smaller outlet these days, ie; they can only be opened up so far. With that thought, it is sometimes better to purchase larger and have it taken in, then to open a garment up.

Good luck

Mr Vim

One Too Many
Son of a...

Well, I just got a sport coat dated 1949, Gabardine Wool 100% and it's too long. The length is close to 32 inches, and I'm borderline 30. I mean, what do I do? I already paid 50 bucks to get the thing here, I'm taking it by a tailor tomorrow, who I have not tried yet, and see what they say, but I fear this puppy is going back on the market... BUT IT'S GABARDINE WOOL!

There is no posting pictures to let you see, it is too long, and it is very obvious.

Tomasso and I already tackled this issue on a blue suit I have from the 60's.

Man!

On a brighter note, the other sport coat fits like a charm.

Torpedo

One Too Many