Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The Depression as Depicted in Art, Literature and Pop Culture. True or not?

Shangas

I'll Lock Up
I apologise for the wordy title, but try as I might, I wasn't able to fit everything that I wanted to say into just a couple of words.

In recent days, I've been reacquainting myself with an old TV show which I haven't seen in YEARS. The Waltons. For those who don't know it, it concentrates on the Walton Family living in the fictional township of Walton's Mountain, Virginia, during the period ca. 1933-1946, during the period of the Depression and the World War.

In watching the episodes, I was reminded a lot of the 1960s film "To Kill a Mockingbird", starring Gregory Peck.

I studied "To Kill a Mockingbird" in school, and it's become one of my favourite books. But between Mockingbird and The Waltons, I began to wonder:

How accurately do these (and other) literary or filmic depictions of the Depression, reflect how hard it really was?

we all hear stories from our grandparents or parents, and we see it in TV shows like The Waltons, in films like The Sting, or Road to Perdition, The Untouchables, King Kong, and so-forth. But how accurately on a whole, does film and literature, capture the Depression?

Is it exaggerated? Softened? Or is what we see on screen and read in books, pretty much, exactly as it was during the 1930s?

For example, in the Waltons, and in Mockingbird, there's a lot of talk about bartering between neighbours. Since there's hardly two pennies to rub together, a doctor might deliver a baby for a sack of potatoes, or a man might repair a car in return for a month's worth of firewood, or in the case of Atticus Finch, handle some legal work, in return for nuts, firewood and other farm-produce.

How common were transactions like this?