Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

This would never have happened to Marilyn or Inrgid!

Status
Not open for further replies.

maggiethespy

A-List Customer
I am frustrated. I am frustrated and I believe that a great deal of this is all of my fault. I feel like I have been beating my head against a brick wall for the last five months, and I can't manage to knock myself out.

If this is not allowed, I'll gladly have it deleted, but I'm taking advantage of this place to rant, and I'm interested commentary on the subject of dating now as compared to the past.

I have been, through the aid of Myspace, been "talking" through a ridiculous relationship with a fellow I met in a class last semester. I met him early in the year and there seemed to be instant chemistry and not just on my part-- I was asked several times through the course of our class if the chap and I were an item. We chatted daily, enjoyed many of the same hobbies, and it seemed that the attraction between us was mutual. He just never seemed to want to make a move.

I have not had many good experiences in the dating world, and on my mentors advice, I shrugged off my previously mousy persona and attempted to reinvent myself. I took initiative and asked the boy to get a cup of coffee with me. His response was, "I totally would, but I kind of have a girlfriend." I completely shrugged his comment off at first, thinking that it was a little odd that he never mentioned her in our many conversations before. It was only about an hour and a half later that I realized what he said. He "kind of" had a girlfriend, which is something I equate to being "kind of" pregnant or "kind of" dead. In the end, he explained it away as he and his girlfriend were going through a "trial separation" and he didn't want to anger her. Eventually, they broke up.