Uses for Old Stockings and Hosiery

Discussion in 'Skills and Smarts' started by Paisley, Apr 3, 2007.

1. Paisley

Paisley I'll Lock Up

Tie climbing roses to their supports.
    Strap clear plastic domes onto their seed trays when winter sowing.
    Put onions inside them and hang in the basement or cellar for storage.
    Emergency fan belt.

Other ideas?

2. LizzieMaine

LizzieMaine Bartender

In my radio days, we used them as windscreens/pop filters for studio microphones: a swatch of stocking clamped in an embroidery hoop, and off you go...

3. Paisley

Paisley I'll Lock Up

When I was a photographer, we had a similar use for panty hose: a piece of stretched hose could be used as a filter to soften the lines on a print. We'd sometimes do that on photos of officers with bad complexions (though we weren't supposed to). I'd forgotten about that.

4. Snookie

Snookie Practically Family

Stuffing them and making rag dolls.

Stuffing them for your hair rolls.

Using them as stuffing for your duct tape dress form.

5. Snookie

Snookie Practically Family

A friend of mine who knows stuff about moviemaking said they'd do the same thing to soften the closeups of the women. Just stretched it across the lens, and *presto! Instant Glamour.

6. Joie DeVive

Joie DeVive One Too Many

Here's one from my Girl Scout days; camping soap holder.

Put a bar of soap into the toe, tie the other end to the spigot.
    Keeps the soap near the faucet and clean so that 20 girls can wash up for meals...

7. KittyT

KittyT I'll Lock Up

you can cut a wide cross section from the thigh to use as a headband (great for holding hair back when washing your face or doing makeup), though this only works for stretchy stockings. also, you can cut skinny cross sections to use as hair elastics that won't cause breakage.

8. fourstarbanner

fourstarbanner One of the Regulars

Wig cap! Put your head in the top and tie the legs off to hold your hair under a wig. Works wonders!

9. Adelaidey