Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

VINTAGE FEDORA'S WHO'S BEST ?

SHARPETOYS

Call Me a Cab
On vintage hats which is the years you should try to find?Before the 1930's, 1940's etc???.Which hat brand seem to be the best.I think i would like to get a vintage Borasalino.I need help i'm just learning about felt fedora's
Thanks,Roger

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
Who is best.

There were alot of hatmakers around in the 30's and 40's it is hard to say who made the best hats. some of the off the wall boutique names from that era often have great quality felt--sometimes they are cheap junk. quality ran the gammit back then like it does now. Though the good stuff back then was cheaper and sold everywhere.

Borsalino has a great reputation for being the hat that many movie stars wore in the 30's. their felts were great and alot of them were made to be rolled up and traveled with. Though my choice for a better hat would be Stetson. Back then Borsalino was just an imported hat. Stetson was the best you could buy. They had hats that were low quality and hats that were high quality. The hats that were high quality... well they are magnificant and from what I have been told handled the weather better than Borsalinos (even though most hats back then were built like tanks and could take great punnishment).

Cavenaugh: is another brand that made amazing quality hats. I owned one and lost it, but if you see one your size, snap it up. I have yet to see a poor quality one. they are the inventor of the Cavenaugh edge... check out the brown Borsalino I posted and you will see what I mean.