Waxed cotton canvas trucker jacket help

Discussion in 'Outerwear' started by barnabus, Mar 22, 2017.

1. barnabus

barnabus Practically Family

As title, I need a waxed cotton canvas trucker jacket, I've decided. I've been searching around the whole internet and found some possibles, from:

Gustin (but out of stock of course) -

[​IMG]

Iron & Resin (Rambler jacket and Lined Scout Jacket) -

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

and Taylor Stitch (Long Haul Jacket)

[​IMG]

You get the idea.

Except I've no experience of any of these, they're all just pictures on the internet to me. Does anyone have any of the above, or any hands-on knowledge of them? Or are there other alternatives i should be looking at? I expected Levi's to be an obvious choice, but waxed cotton doesn't seem to be in the current line up.

I don't need anything extravagant or artisanal, just a straightforward type III type trucker, in waxed cotton canvas and an earthy tone like brown or tan, or even olive or possibly black.

Help me out here please!

2. casechopper

casechopper My Mail is Forwarded Here

I don't have any waxed canvas stuff but I have seen where some have bought jackets and waxed them using otter wax and other wax products. It might be something to look into if that's something you're going for. A cheap duck levi's jacket and a bar of wax wouldn't cost too much. Are you wanting a waxed canvas jacket for the water resistance? Or just for the look?

barnabus likes this.
  3. BoxerguyT89

BoxerguyT89 New in Town

Filson makes a good one. I have not owned the lined version but the unlined one that I had was tough as nails.

Guppy and barnabus like this.
  4. barnabus

For the water resistance. I have a regular denim trucker and a borg-lined version too. But here in the UK I tend to live in waxed cotton because of three seasons-worth of changeable weather. I usually wear a Barbour, but I'd like something trucker style without sacrificing the weather versatility.

5. barnabus