Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

White and gum-soled.

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
Happy to see Johnston and Murphy heading back to the old school white wingtips with orange rubber soles. Now if only I could find a vintage pair that fit my awkward feet.

New from J&M
1_47946_FS.jpg

http://www.johnstonmurphy.com/catalog_detail.aspx?CNAME=Footwear&SNAME=New Arrivals&PLOID=47946

Hemingway Jones

I'll Lock Up
Bartender
I love those shoes. I saw them in the catalogue as well. Jonston and Murphy are very nice shoes. I am happy to see them, Brooks Bros., and even J. Crew getting back to classic styling.

Yeah, just got that catalogue too, and was thinking if I could make the white shoes work.

I've been buying nothing but J&M shoes for the past five years. Seems like I never have to break them in, and the uppers usually last about a year and a half of daily wear.

Has anyone bought from Allen Edmonds? Their shoes are pricey - $300 - but they say you can keep sending them back to the factory to have new soles restitched for $100. Not a bad deal as long as the uppers hold together for three years.

Regards,

Senator Jack

Nathan Flowers

Head Bartender
Staff member

Almost all of my dress shoes are Allen Edmonds. I have 4 pairs (not counting my spectators, which I only wear from Easter to Labor Day), which I rotate through the week. The oldest pair is 5 years old, and the newest is 3 years old. None of them show any significant wear on the uppers at all. I have had to replace the soles on the 5 year old pair, but I had that done by a guy in town for $30. I have had the heels replaced on 2 pairs of them because I tend to wear the outside of my soles severely.